Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

New Race Names To Honour SA Legends

Friday, 31st July 2020

Local racing legends Clare Lindop, John Letts and Leon Macdonald will be among those honoured when six black-type South Australian races are renamed for the 2020/21 season. Thoroughbred Racing South Australia (TRSA) and the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) have unveiled the new race names following a joint decision to honour some of South Australian racing’s greatest icons. The change of race name requests were voted on by the pattern committee and presented to Racing Australia for approval. Former jockeys Lindop and Letts, trainer Macdonald, industry figure the late David Coles, galloper Tobin Bronze and stallion Without Fear will all have races named in their honour. “These new race names reflect some of the champions and leading industry figures in our sport,” TRSA chair Frances Nelson and SAJC chair Bob Holton said in a joint statement. “It’s entirely appropriate that they be honoured in this way.” The next running of each of the renamed races is as follows:

  • Clare Lindop Stakes, Saturday 27 March 2021, 3YO fillies 1600m Listed, previously Laelia Stakes
  • John Letts Cup, Saturday 31 October 2020, 1800m Listed, previously Tokyo City Cup
  • Leon Macdonald Stakes, Saturday 29 August 2020, 1400 Listed, previously Penny Edition Stakes
  • David Coles AM Stakes, Saturday 15 May 2021, 2YO 1200m Group 3, previously National Stakes
  • Tobin Bronze Stakes, Saturday 1 May 2021, 3YO 1200m Group 2, previously Euclase Stakes
  • Without Fear Stakes, Saturday 1 May 2021, 2YO 1050m Listed, previously Queen Adelaide Stakes
« Previous
Return to
31st July 2020 News
Next »