Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

NSWROA Changes Awards Judging Format

Wednesday, 18th September 2019

The NSW Racehorse Owners’ Association, which conducts the prestigious NSW Racing’s Night of Champions each year, has announced that the current points-based calculations system used to determine the winners of its highly prized awards, will be changed for the 2019/2020 season. “While we have adapted the points system over the past few years,” explained NSWROA President Ray McDowell, “it is apparent that the rapidly changing face of racing in this state has meant that a points-only system has its limitations.” McDowell explained that factors such as the increase in multiple-state based trainers, the frequency of transferral of horses between state stables and wide prizemoney variations on races of the same Group level, made it increasingly difficult to assess the best horses in each category under the present system. The awards concerned are NSW Champion 2YO and Champion 3YO, the four distance Champion categories and NSW Champion Horse of the Year. The Country & Provincial Champions will continue to be determined by the Racing NSW Handicapping Panel and the Queen of the Autumn to be judged by the Australian Turf Club. “The Board has discussed these issues in detail and we have decided to utilise a combination of a points-based system to arrive at a shortlist of eligible horses, which will then go to a voting panel,” said McDowell. “The panel will be made up of selected members of our Board and an equal number of respected, impartial industry representatives, who will be invited to participate a few months out from the end of the 2019-2020 season.” He concluded, “We believe this two-pronged approach will ensure that our awards keep pace with industry changes, and the best horse in each category receives the accolades it deserves.”

« Previous
Return to
18th September 2019 News
Next »