Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Finalists for NZ HOTY Awards Announced

Friday, 6th July 2018

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing (NZTR) yesterday announced the finalists for the 2018 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards, with the finalists for Jumper of the Year to be determined later this month, reports NZ Racing Desk. Half of the 22 flat finalists are trained by either the Cambridge partnership of Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman or the Te Akau team of Stephen Autridge and Jamie Richards. All finalists are eligible for the Horse of the Year title, which will be announced at a gala dinner at Ellerslie Racecourse in Auckland on Sunday, 26 August. The finalists are:

  • Champion 2YO - Avantage, Melt, Spanish Whisper, Sword Of Osman
  • Champion 3YO - Age Of Fire, Dijon Bleu, Embellish, Savvy Coup, Scott Base, Vin De Dance
  • Sprinter-Miler - Close Up, Gingernuts, Kawi, Start Wondering
  • Champion Middle Distance - Bonneval, Jon Snow, Lizzie L'Amour, Saint Emilion
  • Champion stayer - Charles Road, Five To Midnight, Ladies First, Zacada
« Previous
Return to
6th July 2018 News
Next »