Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Melbourne Cup Carnival Calendar Of Events Released

Wednesday, 6th September 2017

With weights for the Gr1 Melbourne Cup set to be announced on Tuesday 12 September, anticipation is certainly starting bloom along with the famous roses at Flemington. Following is a virtual potpourri of key race dates and events news the VRC has announced:

  • Myer Spring Fashion Lunch (Gala event at The Atrium) – Wednesday 13 September.
  • Sofitel Girls' Day Out (Featuring the Gr1 Makybe Diva Stakes) - Saturday 16 September. Flemington's Spring racing opening day.
  • Spring Classics Preview Day (Featuring Derby and Oaks trials) – Wednesday 27 September
  • Seppelt Turnbull Stakes Day (Featuring Gr1 Turnbull Stakes) – Saturday 7 October
  • Melbourne Cup Carnival Launch (Celebrity event at The Park to officially launch the 2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival) – Monday October 30
  • VRC Members' Trackwork Event (Members and Media only) – Tuesday 31 October
  • AAMI Victoria Derby Day (Elegance and equine class combine on Australasian racing's widely regarded showcase day) – Saturday 4 November
  • Emirates Melbourne Cup Parade (Swanston Street procession featuring Melbourne Cup jockeys, trainers and connections) – Monday 6 November
  • Emirates Melbourne Cup Day (The $6.25 million "race that stops a nation") – Tuesday 7 November
  • VRC Kennedy Oaks Club Lunch (Special guests and live entertainment make this a "must-attend" event on the social and racing calendar) – Wednesday 8 November
  • Kennedy Oaks Day (Fashion, food and racing combine as the best 3YO fillies fight it out on track) – Thursday 9 November
  • Emirates Stakes Day (A Family-friendly final day with some serious racing, including the $2 million Gr1 Emirates Stakes) – Saturday 11 November

Defcon

« Previous
Return to
6th September 2017 News
Next »