Daily News Archive

Search nearly 75,000 unique Daily News articles.

Daily News Subscription

Pharoah Draws Wide For Kentucky Derby

Friday, 1st May 2015

Favourite American Pharoah (Pioneerof the Nile-Littleprincessemma, by Yankee Gentlemen) has drawn barrier 18 for Saturday's US$2 million Gr1 Kentucky Derby (10 furlongs) at Churchill Downs, reports bloodhorse.com. American Pharoah, last year's champion 2YO male, is prepared by Hall of Fame trainer Bob Baffert, who is bidding for his fourth Derby success and his first since War Emblem saluted in 2002. American Pharoah comes into Saturday's Run for the Roses in outstanding form, having won the Gr1 Arkansas Derby by 8-lengths after taking Oaklawn Park's Gr2 Rebel Stakes by 6.25-lengths. He will be ridden by Victor Espinoza, who incidentally won last year's Derby aboard California Chrome, and will start a 5-2 favourite in the 20 horse field. The only Derby winner to come from barrier 18 since 1930 was Gato Del Sol in 1982, but Baffert says he is not concerned by the wide starting position. "Outside doesn't really bother me," Baffert said. "As long as he breaks well, he'll be in a good spot." He added, "He's out there a ways but it's not a bad spot. He's quick, he can maneuver from wherever he is and Dortmund, he is pretty fast himself. I'm sure if he breaks well he's going to be in a good spot. They're fast horses. I'm just glad the draw's over with." Baffert also has second favourite Dortmund (Big Brown-Our Josephina, by Tale of the Cat), who is unbeaten in three starts this campaign and coming off an impressive 4.25-length victory in the Gr1 Santa Anita Derby four weeks ago. Meanwhile, Mubtaahij, who is attempting to become the first Derby winner based in Dubai, drew barrier six. The winner of the UAE Derby is trained by South African master Mike de Kock and has won four of seven starts. The son of Dubawi is quoted at 20-1. Some statistics: Since 1930, barriers 5 and 10 have produced the most winners with nine apiece. Barriers 1 and 8 have had eight winners each, but the horse drawn the inside has not won since Ferdinand in 1986. Barrier 2 has seven winners. The only gate not have a winner is 17. The final field for Saturday's Kentucky Derby is:

  • Ocho Ocho Ocho - 50-1
  • Carpe Diem - 8-1
  • Materiality - 12-1
  • Tencendur - 30-1
  • Danzig Moon - 30-1
  • Mubtaahij - 20-1
  • El Kabeir - 30-1
  • Dortmund - 3-1
  • Bolo - 30-1
  • Firing Line - 12-1
  • Frammento (replaces Stanford) - 50-1
  • International Star - 20-1
  • Itsaknockout - 30-1
  • Keen Ice - 50-1
  • Frosted - 15-1
  • War Story - 50-1
  • Mr. Z - 50-1
  • American Pharoah - 5-2
  • Upstart - 15-1
  • Far Right - 30-1


« Previous
Return to
1st May 2015 News
Next »