Copyright 2020 Breeding Racing Thursday, 9th July 2020 News / Breeding Racing (www.breedingracing.com) Australian Breeding & Racing Magazine is the definitive guide to the thoroughbred breeding & racing industry across Australia, New Zealand & South-east Asia - a MUST for all equine enthusiasts, potential investors & breeding aficionados. http://www.breedingracing.com en-us gknowles@breedingracing.com gknowles@breedingracing.com Sixties Groove Wins Listed Grafton Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/sixties-groove-wins-listed-grafton-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/sixties-groove-wins-listed-grafton-cup/ %%20200709_GRA_R7:Iron Jack Grafton Cup%% Track: Grafton Race: $200,000 Listed Grafton Cup (2350m) Winner: 7YO gelding Sixties Groove (Sixties Icon-Gift Dancer, by Imperial Dancer) Placings: 5YO gelding The Lord Mayor & 7YO gelding Carzoff Winning Sire: Sixties ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Kosciuszko Favourite Returns to Base Camp http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/kosciuszko-favourite-returns-to-base-camp/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/kosciuszko-favourite-returns-to-base-camp/ In a blow for pre-post backers, Kosciuszko favourite Snitz has been sent to the spelling paddock by his trainer Matt Dunn. The long-time chalk for the lucrative $1.3 million feature run ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Hopes Knight Mariner Can Claim Guineas http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/hopes-knight-mariner-can-claim-guineas/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/hopes-knight-mariner-can-claim-guineas/ Exciting 3YO Knight Mariner (Tavistock-Soltina, by O’Reilly) will run in the Gr3 Winx Guineas over 1600m at the Sunshine Coast on Saturday, and his trainer Tony Gollan says the gelding is ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Darain Debut Worth The Wait in Gold http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/darain-debut-worth-the-wait-in-gold/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/darain-debut-worth-the-wait-in-gold/ It’s been a long time coming, but 2018’s uber expensive Tattersalls Yearling Sale Book-1 sale-topper Darain (Dubawi-Dar Re Mi, by Singspiel) has finally hit the racecourse, with UK bookies wishing he ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Ghaiyyath Vs Enable Rematch Off http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/ghaiyyath-vs-enable-rematch-off/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/ghaiyyath-vs-enable-rematch-off/ Meanwhile, connections of Sunday’s brilliant Eclipse Stakes winner Ghaiyyath (Dubawi-Nightime, by Galileo) told racingpost.com he would head to next month’s Gr1 Juddmonte International at York rather than run into Enable (Nathaniel-Concentric, ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Colts Dominate Australian Weanling Sale Day-1 http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/colts-dominate-australian-weanling-sale-day-1/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/colts-dominate-australian-weanling-sale-day-1/ An emotional Verna Metcalfe of Middlebrook Valley Lodge celebrated “an awesome result’’ as an Exceed And Excel colt she offered for long-time client Kate Gadsby topped Day 1 of the Inglis ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Darby Racing Expands Into Pinhooking http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/darby-racing-expands-into-pinhooking/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/darby-racing-expands-into-pinhooking/ The day’s second-top lot was a So You Think x Feirin colt (lot 204), which Darby Racing Pinhook purchased online from Olly Tait’s Twin Hills Stud for $150,000. It was one ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Tait Says Market Has Adjusted to Online Reality http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/tait-says-market-has-adjusted-to-online-reality/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/tait-says-market-has-adjusted-to-online-reality/ Twin Hills’ Olly Tait was delighted with Twin Hills’ So You Think colt sold to Darby Racing (see above). “At the end of the day $150,000 is a lot of money,’’ ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Inglis Australian Weanling Sale Day-1 Stats http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/inglis-australian-weanling-sale-day-1-stats/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/inglis-australian-weanling-sale-day-1-stats/ At the conclusion of Day 1, the 2020 Australian Weanling Sale’s average of $33,748 was largely on par with last year’s overall average, despite the challenging circumstances buyers and vendors are ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Signore Fox Wins Listed Ramornie Handicap http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/signore-fox-wins-listed-ramornie-handicap/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/signore-fox-wins-listed-ramornie-handicap/ %%20200708_GRA_R7:Gdsc Ramornie Hcp%% Track: Grafton Race: $200,000 Listed Ramornie Hcp (1200m) Winner: 4YO horse Signore Fox (Exceed And Excel-Sharp Susan, by Touch Gold) Placings: 5YO gelding Haunted & 4YO horse Jonker Winning Sire: Exceed And Excel ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Mystic Journey Plans On Hold http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/mystic-journey-plans-on-hold/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/mystic-journey-plans-on-hold/ Gr1 mare Mystic Journey (Needs Further-White Gold, by Colombia) will stay in Tasmania due to Victoria’s current COVID19 spike, reports racing.com. She was due to run in the Gr3 Bletchingly Stakes. ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Lopsided Field of Stayers for Grafton Cup http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/lopsided-field-of-stayers-for-grafton-cup/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/lopsided-field-of-stayers-for-grafton-cup/ This afternoon's $200,000 Listed Grafton Cup (2350m) boasts some pretty smart stayers from key stables around Sydney – seven with a handicap rating of between 91 to 106, however it does ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Another Sydney Campaign for The Bostonian http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/another-sydney-campaign-for-the-bostonian/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/another-sydney-campaign-for-the-bostonian/ Multiple Group-1 winner The Bostonian is set to cross the Tasman once again this spring to try and add to his elite-level tally. The Tony Pike-trained gelding had another lucrative autumn ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 NSW Border Closed to Victorian Racehorses http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/nsw-border-closed-to-victorian-racehorses/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/nsw-border-closed-to-victorian-racehorses/ As a result of the border closure – the first in over 100 years – between NSW and Victoria due to the latter’s latest COVID-19 outbreak, punters.com.au reports that, with immediate ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Maher Backs Racing NSW Border Restrictions http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/maher-backs-racing-nsw-border-restrictions/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/maher-backs-racing-nsw-border-restrictions/ For a trainer who, with co-trainer David Eustace, has stables in both Victoria and NSW, one might have expected Ciaron Maher to have been angered or frustrated by Racing NSW’s decision ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Krystal Bishop To Retire from Riding http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/krystal-bishop-to-retire-from-riding/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/krystal-bishop-to-retire-from-riding/ South Australian jockey Krystal Bishop will retire from race riding at the end of the 2019/20 season and will enter a training partnership with John Dunn at Oakbank, reported theracessa.com.au. “Why ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Data Shows Derby Jockeys Miscalculated http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/data-shows-derby-jockeys-miscalculated/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/data-shows-derby-jockeys-miscalculated/ In an interesting twist to the recent shock Gr1 Epsom Derby result where the first three home averaged a $42.60 starting price, theguardian.com has revealed sectional times that show it became ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Frankel Daughter Heads York's Musidora Stakes http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/frankel-daughter-heads-yorks-musidora-stakes/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/frankel-daughter-heads-yorks-musidora-stakes/ A total of nine runners have been declared for the rearranged Gr3 Tattersalls Musidora Stakes at York Racecourse this Thursday (14:40 GMT), with John Gosden's Franconia and Roger Charlton's Pocket Square ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000 Spendthrift to stand Met Mile-G1 Winner Vekoma http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/spendthrift-to-stand-met-mile-g1-winner-vekoma/ http://www.breedingracing.com/news/2020/07/09/spendthrift-to-stand-met-mile-g1-winner-vekoma/ B. Wayne Hughes’ Spendthrift Farm (Kentucky) has acquired the breeding rights to multiple Grade-1-winning millionaire Vekoma. The four-year-old son of leading sire Candy Ride (Arg) captured the prestigious Metropolitan Handicap-G1 at ... Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:00:00 + 1000